Editorial
 

 

 

The Euro and the European Financial Community
 

Following on from our series of articles about the Euro’s perspectives as seen by leading business sectors of the Community, this October issue offers a « market-eye view » of the impact of the new currency as perceived by key financial players.

The trend towards globalization and integration already well under way in financial markets may very probably culminate in « virtual trade ». The Euro will not bring about any immediate major changes here but act rather as a catalyst for development pushing vigorously towards a powerful integrated pan-European financial market. To do this it requires the 32 Stock Exchanges and the 23 Derivatives Markets of the European Community to establish solid co-operation structures.

Ideal conditions are necessary to introduce a free-flowing market for the Euro, and wherever fragmentation in the member states exist such as conventions, standards and regulations currently in force, measures must be taken to lift them. Because public authorities and the markets themselves understand the importance of this matter, a consultative group was formed, under the aegis of the European Commission. Chaired by Mr Alberto Giovannini, the group set out identifying the technical problems associated with the introduction of the Euro and suggests ways of solving them. Its findings are to be found in a report published in July. The group proposes a common set of regulations applicable throughout in countries switching over to the new currency.

We know from market observation that the impact of the Euro will vary widely from sector to sector.

As individual currencies are replaced by one the foreign exchange sector stands to lose close to half of its scope. However off-set opportunities exist for operators acting in international markets as the reach and liquidity of financial activity in the change over zone are likely to offer much greater possibilities than do individual currencies.

Fixed income markets are ready to convert to the Euro at once on January 1 1999. Government bonds will be issued in Euro from January 4th and a greater part of this public debt issued in the individual currencies will be redenominated in Euro shortly afterwards. As for the international market, some bond issuers, amongst them Austrian and Spanish governments, have already launched linked issues in selected specific currencies of the future Euro zone to enable them to be redenominated in Euro as soon as the time comes. Agreement to establish EURIBOR, the Euro 3-month index interest rates was reached at the end of July. This index will replace national currency B.OR.s and will guarantee contract continuity. Markets especially asset managers rely on such benchmarks to be able to evaluate currencies in which they trade.

Inter market alliances occur in derivatives markets, and in some cases, beyond the Euro zone with « out out » countries. Meanwhile new Euro denominated contracts are being designed for launch as soon as the list of Euro « in » countries is announced. This kind of activity, now well under way in most derivatives markets, points to where -- on or before January 1 1999 -- the sharpest edge of competitive forces unleashed by the introduction of the Euro are already being felt.

National equity markets will be the least affected, protected as they are in each country by a banking network and the existing preference for domestic transactions. Though naturally, here too, the tendency is to a wider European domestic playing field. Large corporate entities functioning in a variety of countries and quoted in as many currencies will seek to reduce expenses and rationalise systems. Spurred on by such goings on anyone in the banking sector seeking to develop his activity beyond domestic borders will be faced with no choice but to search for new opportunities in neighbour states.

 

from the Editorial Board
1  See the report in full at the Internet website address <www.ecu-activities.be>
 
    HOME  CONTACT

Editorial
 
 
L'euro et la Communauté financière européenne
 

Après avoir présenté les points de vue du milieu bancaire puis du secteur des entreprises, nous poursuivons l'examen de l'impact et des perspectives de l'euro en consacrant le présent numéro aux vues d'opérateurs agissant sur les marchés financiers européens.

Le mouvement vers la globalisation et l'intégration amorcé depuis quelques années déjà sur les marchés financiers pourrait bien aller jusqu'à la mise en place de "marchés virtuels". Dans ce contexte, l'euro n'apportera pas de bouleversements supplémentaires dans la plupart des cas. Il devrait jouer plutôt le rôle d'un catalyseur contribuant à la constitution d'un puissant marché financier européen. Obtenir un tel résultat demande de sérieux efforts de coopération de la part d'un bon nombre des 32 bourses de valeurs et des 23 bourses de produits dérivés coexistant actuellement au sein de la Communauté européenne.

Des conditions sont requises toutefois pour que ce marché devienne important, liquide et efficient il faut que son unicité ne soit pas entravée par des barrières administratives propres à chaque Etat membre. Parce que les pouvoirs publics comme les marchés eux mêmes ont compris l'importance de cette question un groupe consultatif a été constitué sous l'égide de la Commission Européenne. Présidé par M. Alberto Giovannini ce groupe s'est attaché à identifier les problèmes techniques soulevés par l'introduction de l'euro et à y apporter des solutions. Le rapport rendu public fin juillet propose la mise en oeuvre de règles communes s'appliquant aux marchés de capitaux de tous les pays participant à la zone euro.

L'observation de ces marchés amène à constater que l'impact de l'euro sera très différent d'un secteur à l'autre.

Les marchés des changes pourraient perdre jusqu'à la moitié de leur activité avec la disparition du change entre les monnaies remplacées par l'euro. Toutefois il est évident qu'une certaine compensation sera réalisée au moyen de l'euro en faveur des opérateurs, agissant à l'international car l'attrait du marché en euro sur la scène mondiale sera bien supérieur à celui de chacune des monnaies qu'il remplace.

Les marchés à taux fixe se sont déjà préparés à appliquer l'euro immédiatement. La dette publique des différents Etats membres sera émise en euro dès le 4 janvier 1999 et leurs emprunts libellés en monnaies nationales seront, pour la plupart, redénominés en euro. Le marché des euroobligations a déjà enregistré le lancement par d'importantes sociétés ou même par des Etats souverains d'émissions dans des monnaies communautaires bien ciblées afin de pouvoir être redénominées en euro, par la suite, sans difficultés. Un accord est intervenu, fin juillet, pour la mise en place d'un indice Euro à 3 mois, l'EURIBOR, qui remplacera les B.OR. en monnaies nationales. Les opérateurs financiers, en particulier les gestionnaires d'avoirs, ont besoin de telles références pour évaluer les monnaies dans lesquelles ils traitent.

Des alliances se nouent entre des marchés de produits dérivés allant dans certains cas au delà de la zone euro jusqu'à des pays "out out" tandis que sont préparés des produits qui seront lancés conjointement dès que sera connue la liste des pays participant à l'euro. Ces préparatifs montrent à l'évidence que c'est dans ce secteur que l'euro va entraîner, dès janvier 1999 et peut-être même avant, la concurrence la plus rude.

Le marché des actions, protégé dans chaque pays par un réseau financier national et une préférence pour les opérations domestiques, sera le moins touché dans l'immédiat, mais là aussi existe une tendance à long terme vers un marché domestique européen. La demande d'importants groupes industriels ou financiers, maintenant cotés en différentes monnaies dans de nombreux pays, se fera pressante pour n'avoir qu'un seul interlocuteur dans un marché désormais unifié afin de réduire leurs frais et de rationaliser leurs opérations. Cette pression ne peut qu'inciter des intermédiaires financiers à élargir leur activité au delà de leurs frontières nationales en cherchant à profiter des nouvelles opportunités qui s'offriront dans les états voisins.

 

Le comité de rédaction
1 Voir le texte du rapport Giovanini à <http://www.ecu-activities/password/document/giovani.htm>
 
    HOME  CONTACT